Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

love of reading

Love of Reading Week is Feb 10th-14th, 2014. “Love” painting by Julie Rustad.

From February 10th -14th celebrate reading! Here are ways to participate in “Love of Reading Week”:

Read a NEW FREE BOOK! Pima County Library is giving away free books and has lots of events going on during Love of Reading Week.

Go to storytimes. I enjoy going to the Pima County Library, Bookmans and Mildred & Dildred storytimes. Kid-friendly and fun for both the kids and the parents. (If you live outside of Tucson, check with your local library.)

Reading "Syver's First Rock Star Year" - a book I wrote and illustrated for my son!

Reading “Syver’s First Rock Star Year” – a book I wrote and illustrated for my son!

Many schools have guest presenters this week!  I am presenting about illustration and design at Sunrise Elementary School and the Tucson Jewish Community Center during “Love of Reading Week”. Find out who is presenting at your kid’s school to learn about the author or illustrator’s work beforehand. Your kiddos might be even more excited and also have some great questions prepared!

“The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.”
― Dr. Seuss, I Can Read With My Eyes Shut!

Put the fun events in your calendar now! As a busy Mom, I find it helpful to have events already in my Ical. Macaroni Kid and Arizona Families do a great job of gathering all of the family friendly events and hosting them in one spot. Take a look now and put whatever you find interesting in your calendar.

Michelle and Odin reading Desert Dwellers Flash Cards together.

Michelle and Odin reading Desert Dwellers Flash Cards together.

Reading is everywhere! Don’t forget that reading doesn’t only have to be from books or magazines – reading is everywhere – in the kitchen on the packages, in a cookbook — or even in the car – signs along the road (street signs, billboards) —writing a little story together and reading it — reading posters when you go to different places – swim lessons, the hockey arena, restaurants, at the mall…

Read something that makes your heart sing! As parents we tend to focus on our kid’s reading and ours comes from a few minutes on Facebook. I find having a good book already on my night stand allows me to read a bit before bed. It also helps me fall asleep!

Pick out a new poetry or romantic book during “Fall in Love with an Author Fair” Feb 8th at Bookmans Speedway.

Books are a uniquely portable magic.
― Stephen King, On Writing

I love how my son is excited to read. We read a few books before nap time and then before bed. I actually have to say, “Only 3 books” when it’s getting too late. And he exclaims, “Four!” I hope he always feels like this!

Hope you all enjoy “Love of Reading Week”!

Continue your Love of Reading at the Tucson Festival of Books in March! I’ll be in the Authors Pavilion March 16th at 9:30am.

Hope to see you then!

- Julie

Which of these do you think you’ll try during Love of Reading Week?

