Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Dream it then Do it

“Dream it then DO IT!” by Julie Rustad.

Have you ever thought, “This year I am going to…” but then don’t follow through? You’re not alone. Only 8% of Americans actually achieve their New Years Resolutions according to a study by the University of Scranton, Journal of Clinical Psychology.

Why do you think you didn’t follow through?

“There’s not enough time.”

“I don’t know where to start.”

“I forgot about it.”

I think we all can relate to resolutions that don’t come into fruition.

How can we make our 2014 New Year Resolutions a reality?

The Inc article, “5 Magical Tips for Achieving Your Goals” by Marla Tabaka suggests you should have an emotionally positive feeling from your goals. This sounds basic, but how you frame something can determine if you stick with it.

So instead of, “I need to lost weight”. It could be something you are more excited about like, “I want to play tennis with my friends and feel better!”

“Always look at the emotional driver behind your goals. How does it make you feel when you think about achieving the outcome? Recognizing your good feelings will transition you from a shameful should to a passionate want, thereby creating a much higher likelihood of achieving your meaningful goals. After all, positive emotion drives action far, far more effectively than does negative emotion.” – Marla Tabaka

Jon and Syver in Sedona

My husband and son inspire me!

One of their tips is to state your goal in writing. I am a huge believer in writing my goals down in my journal. In 2008 I wrote that I wanted to create a product to sell in addition to owning my graphic design business.

Years later I achieved this goal with the launch of my Desert Dwellers Flash Cards. Throughout the process of creating them – I would write down the things I needed to accomplish. This helped me to sort out what items needed to be worked on next and to not feel so overwhelmed. It also helped me feel like it was really happening – not just a thought floating around in my fantabulous brain. 😉

desert animal flash cards for kids

Desert Dwellers Flash Cards by Julie Originals

SHARING IS CARING
Whether it’s a workout buddy, networking group, or partner – sharing your goals for the New Year with others is a positive step to reaching them in 2014!

My husband and I are always bouncing ideas off one another. My Mom’s group helped me build the best possible product through feedback and support. My friend Whitney sweats it out with me during our TRX workouts!

mom meetup group

Some of my best friends are from my Mom Meetup Group!

My friends and family are amazing, inspiring and crucial to reaching my goals!

Like my new painting says, “DREAM it…then DO it!”
Happy New Years!

What or who has helped you reach a goal? Would you like to share a goal you have for 2014?

