Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Piles of paper…GUILTY. Piles of random doo-dads…GUILTY. Although I have always been creative – I have always been messy too. (Just ask anyone I’ve ever lived with!)

I think there’s probably a lot of other creatives that have piles of papers too…Albert Einstein had a super messy desk!

If a cluttered desk is a sign of a cluttered mind, of what, then, is an empty desk a sign?” – Albert Einstein

At age 35 I know I will never be super neat. My brain doesn’t work that way. There are plenty of resources though.

When I searched “home organization”,  6765 books offering decluttering tips appeared! WHOA!

Lots of resources for organizing!

Lots of resources for organizing!

Besides books there are awesome articles about organization. I can relate to the artist who wrote, “5 Ways to Creatively Organize Your Time, Mind, and Workspace”. Melissa Baswell Williams says that “at times her studio looks like it was hit by a tornado”.

I find her tips helpful and I recently worked on organizing my home office for the New Year!

My acrylics, journals and tools are right above my desk - but in a neater way than before!

My acrylic paints, journals and tools are right above my desk – but in a neater way than before!

Besides keeping physical items organized, I keep my thoughts, goals and tasks organized too.

I believe in the power of a good ‘to do’ list!

Do you notice how you remember things better when you actually write them down? This past year – I’ve heavily relied on my I-calendar – but I missed the tactile experience of using a day planner. I think It’s nice to be away from the computer and plan ahead milestones for important goals.

I’ve looked online and in office supply stores and book stores, but I still didn’t find a planner I liked. I like to have a really large month view, but then an ample amount of space for each day too.

I am not sure how I found it, but I am soooo excited about Erin Condren’s Life Planner! I love the 2-page monthly spread and how each day is broken down by “morning”, “day” and “night”.

I love the monthly spread!

I also like how colorful and joyful it is. I added this super cute photo of Syver and Jon hiking in Sedona to the cover. My favorite people in my favorite place!!! So inspiring!

My New Erin Condren Life Planner!

If you like this planner, sign up to receive a $10 Gift Certificate towards Erin Condren’s products!

I know that in 2014 I am not going to change into a clean freak, but maybe, just maybe, I can be a little bit neater. And when I am not, I’ll just look at my new painting and feel better 😉

How do you stay organized?  Please share with me!

