Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

painting of ALbert Einstein quote by artist Julie Rustad

“Creativity is Intelligence Having Fun” – Albert Einstein. Painted by Julie Rustad.

I love having a creative career as a designer and illustrator. I’ve been asked before about how I stay feeling creative 24/7 – and here’s some things that work for me.

Know your most creative time (and try not to interrupt it)
I feel the most creative in the morning so I begin my projects right away – then check email after (before lunch). When I do it the other way around – I seem to lose a lot of my creative time handling the emails. Later in the day, I work on the “less creative tasks”.

IMG_0353When you’re slowing down – take a break
Recently I was working on a project and found myself not getting very far. My brain was tired – so I took a little run. Of course while I was running the best idea came to me — and as soon as I got back to the office – I felt refreshed and had a much better idea!

IMG_2723

Levi rests quite often!

Change your scenery
If I want to make things more fun – I’ll work from a coffee shop or bookstore. I tend to sketch more at these kind of places because cause my computer isn’t staring at me – while it’s in my back pack. My best concepts usually originate as a simple sketch.

IMG_1368

Syver likes to frequent coffee shops and get in some exercise at the same time!

Brainstorm buddies
As designers we are used to critiques, but working as a solopreneur can be lonely. When I need some feedback, I’ll check in with my husband who is an animator. Although we have different businesses – we have complimentary skills and can speak the same language objectively. I’ll also send an email to a few friends when I need those extra set of eyes. They sometimes see things in a whole new way and I find it very helpful!

What do you do to stay creative?

_______________________________________________________

painting of ALbert Einstein quote by artist Julie Rustad

“Creativity is Intelligence Having Fun” – Albert Einstein. Painted by Julie Rustad.

“Creativity is intelligence having fun” a quote from Albert Einstein makes me smile. If you’d like your own copy, it’s available for sale on the Julie Originals website.

